Calendar

Color engraving of the hanging gardens of Semiramis at Babylon
Lecture

Lynne Lancaster – Rome “Urbs Pensilis”: A Hanging City and Its Hanging Gardens

Monday, November 30, 2020–6:00 PM
AAR Zoom, Rome
Color photographs of three nuns taking a selfie in front of a Roman fountain
Fellow Shoptalks

Giovanna Silva – Narratives/Relazioni

Monday, November 9, 2020–6:00 PM
AAR Zoom, Rome
2020 Conversations - Pergamon Panorama
Conversations/Conversazioni

Andreas Scholl & Lynne Lancaster – The Pergamon Panorama in Berlin: Where Tradition and Innovation Converge

Monday, November 2, 2020–6:00 PM
AAR Zoom, Rome
Graphic logo for the 2020 Virtual Benefit consisting of the words "One Moment Infinite Ideas" against a color gradient of blue, green, and yellow; the dates and names of honorees are listed
Benefit

2020 Virtual Benefit: One Moment/Infinite Ideas

Tuesday, October 27, 2020–7:00 PM
AAR Zoom, New York
Detail of the cover of Elizabeth Rodini's new book on a Gentile Bellini portrait
Lecture

Elizabeth Rodini – In and Out of Istanbul: The Cosmopolitan Life of a Peripatetic Portrait

Monday, October 19, 2020–6:00 PM
AAR Zoom, Rome
Black and white photograph of a depopulated Wall Street in the early morning, looking west at Trinity Church from the steps of Federal Hall
Conversations/Conversazioni

Catherine Opie & Marks Robbins – Notes from America

Monday, October 5, 2020–6:00 PM
AAR Zoom, New York
Detail of a 1588 map by Georg Braun and Frans Hogenberg called "A Bird’s-eye view of Damascus"
Lecture

Avinoam Shalem – The City Objectified: Visual Histories of Withdrawals

Monday, September 14, 2020–6:00 PM
AAR Zoom, Rome
Green background with yellow letters that state American Academy in Rome 125th Anniversary McKim Medal Gala
Canceled
McKim Medal Gala

2020 McKim Medal Gala

Wednesday, June 10, 2020–7:00 PM
Villa Aurelia, Rome
Canceled
Encounters

Encounters II: The Activist Gesture

Friday, May 29–Saturday, July 4, 2020

AAR Gallery, Rome
Canceled
Fellow Shoptalks

Jeremy Simmons & Marsha Ginsberg

Monday, May 4, 2020–6:00 PM
AAR Lecture Room, Rome
Canceled
Fellow Shoptalks

Matthew Brennan & James Casebere

Monday, April 27, 2020–6:00 PM
AAR Lecture Room, Rome
Canceled
Fellow Shoptalks

Giuliana Mosca & Roberto Lugo

Monday, April 6, 2020 6:00 PM–6:00 PM
AAR Lecture Room, Rome
Canceled
Fellow Shoptalks

Melanie Masterton Sherazi & Corinna Gosmaro

Monday, March 30, 2020–6:00 PM
AAR Lecture Room, Rome
Canceled
Fellow Shoptalks

Evan A. MacCarthy & David Brooks

Monday, March 23, 2020–6:00 PM
AAR Lecture Room, Rome
Canceled
Patricia H. Labalme Friends of the Library Lecture

Alina Payne – Architecture, Words, and the Limits of Drawing

Tuesday, March 17, 2020–6:00 PM
Villa Aurelia, Rome
Canceled
Fellow Shoptalks

Corey Tazzara & Sarah Crowner

Monday, March 16, 2020–6:00 PM
AAR Lecture Room, Rome
Canceled
Encounters

Digital Innovations in Archaeology and Cultural Heritage

Friday, March 13, 2020 9:00 AM–6:00 PM
AAR Lecture Room, Rome
Canceled
Conversations/Conversazioni
Encounters

Encounters with Philip Guston

Thursday, March 12, 2020–6:30 PM
Hauser & Wirth, New York
Canceled
Conversations/Conversazioni
Encounters

The Pergamon Panorama in Berlin: Where Tradition and Digital Innovation Converge

Thursday, March 12, 2020–6:00 PM
AAR Lecture Room, Rome
Canceled
Fellow Shoptalks

Parrish Elizabeth Wright & Giovanna Silva

Monday, March 9, 2020–6:00 PM
AAR Lecture Room, Rome
Fellow Shoptalks

Courtney Bryan

Monday, March 2, 2020–6:00 PM
AAR Lecture Room, Rome
Canceled
Lecture

Jeffrey Schnapp – The Shifting Contours of the Codex (a secret history of the electric book)

Wednesday, February 26, 2020–6:00 PM
AAR Lecture Room, Rome
Incontri

Incontri AIAC – Ricostruire la vita attraverso la morte

Monday, February 24, 2020–4:00 PM
AAR Lecture Room, Rome
Cinque Mostre

Cinque Mostre 2020: Convergence

Thursday, February 20–Sunday, March 29, 2020

AAR Gallery, Rome
Fellow Shoptalks

Angelo Caglioti & Nicole Sealey

Monday, February 17, 2020–6:00 PM
AAR Lecture Room, Rome
Lecture

Peter Campbell – The Anatomy of a Naval Encounter: The Battle of the Egadi Islands (241 BC)

Tuesday, February 11, 2020–6:00 PM
AAR Lecture Room, Rome
Fellow Shoptalks

Joel Pattison & Brian Davis

Monday, February 10, 2020–6:00 PM
AAR Lecture Room, Rome
Fellow Shoptalks

Alexis Wang & Samiya Bashir

Monday, February 3, 2020–6:00 PM
AAR Lecture Room, Rome
Fellow Shoptalks

Alana Mailes & Pamela Z

Monday, January 27, 2020–6:00 PM
AAR Lecture Room, Rome
Color photograph of Kate Thomas drinking a beverage from a large white ceramic mug
Fellow Shoptalks

Christopher van den Berg & Kate Thomas

Monday, January 20, 2020–6:00 PM
AAR Lecture Room, Rome